12
Jan
10

Two Beautiful Songs. I really hope you enjoy

I beg, listen to these songs while doing something other than really, overtly listening to them. They’re meant to reach an inner part of your psyche that is not so…rational or intuitive.  I don’t think either piece is “music” as we are used to. More like classical compositions, that set a very tangible mood, leaving you to fill in the blanks as you see fit.

The first, by Mogwai, is one that’s kept me in an uplifted mood so far this winter. It may even be a little too uplifting, but I need that in the dead of winter. Maybe you do as well.


The second song, performed by  Grouper (actually the solo project of Liz Harris), is a hauntingly beautiful piece. The lyrics evoke a very hypnotic, engulfing sense of what Love might be. One of the better “love songs” I know of, its a very deep and emotional reflection on the ever-elusive feeling of Love, whatever that thing is. But, at least for the first few listens, I recommend listening without the lyrics, so as to think of the singing not as narrative or voice, but as an instrument. I think that’s the first thing Harris wants her singing to accomplish. But, the lyrics certainly deserve contemplation, as they are very well written (I’ll post them below the video, which is an unofficial accompaniment to the music). After doing so, I think you will find a very modern view on Love in the lyrics. To reuse a previous adjective, a very haunting view of Love..


This feeling doesn’t go away
I feel it moving through me

I want a love I had inside
Want to feel it moving through me

In dreams I’m moving through heavy water
The love is enormous its lifting me up
I’d rather be sleeping
I’d rather fall into tidal waves
and go where the deepest currents go

I opened a mirror up
and saw a true love
I let it separate in two
the water rising up over my head

In dreams I’m moving through heavy water
the love is enormous its lifting me up
I’d rather be sleeping
I’d rather fall in to tidal waves
and go where the deepest currents go

In dreams I’m moving through heavy water
the love is enormous its lifting me up
I’d rather be sleeping
I’d rather fall in to tidal waves
and go where the deepest currents go

0 Responses to “Two Beautiful Songs. I really hope you enjoy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The reason for all this is not reasonable. The reason, strictly art, Still makes no sense to me.

The Wheel

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


