30
Nov
09

Two Thousand Mile Perspective

In the pitch blindness
Of phone conversation
I picture her, little sister,
More vividly than in person.
I see her talking wide-eyed
In exclamation, in the seriousness
Of new found words.
The importance of her own voice
Resonates in the eyes I don’t see.
What entralls her enthralls me sincerely –
The universality of buckling
Your own car seat.
I don’t see or hear but feel
the urgency in her eyes      Illumination
of big brother      I feel the cell phone
Engulf a tiny hand and when she points
To a toy in her room, I see it
Two thousand miles
                                           away.
The blindness of telephoning
Opens my eyes to her growth.
I heed her aging in each syllable
and every new idea is
                                                                                       A notch
                                                                                       In the
                                                                                       Doorframe
Her ideas are the grand ones
And college seems so playground

She talks of her toys
Again and I am captivated
She doesn’t understand that I can’t see
Through her eyes – she still knows
That universe revolves around her.
I hope she is never decieved
Otherwise…No one should ever
Be lied to like that.

2 Responses to “Two Thousand Mile Perspective”


  1. December 3, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    I don’t have the time to say more other than i like this. A thousand times yes.

  2. December 9, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    I still can’t believe your ability to put my thoughts into words. That’s incredible dude.


Leave a Reply

The reason for all this is not reasonable. The reason, strictly art, Still makes no sense to me.

The Wheel

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


